Barbell Life / Fitness / His

GOALS… Bodybuilding and Beyond

“Everybody wants to be a bodybuilder, but nobody wants to lift this heavy ass weight.”

-Ronnie Coleman

Goals are a funny thing. Some people live and die by them, while others seem to not have any goals or aspirations and do just fine. My plan for this post is to give my take on them, especially after I met a bunch of “goals” that I had and where I plan to go from here.

GOALS ARE STUPID

My goals are

  • Unspecific
  • Imperceptible
  • Impossible
  • Surrealistic
  • Outside of the space time continuum

(For anyone that has ever heard of the SMART principle, I hope that made you laugh)

This is how I’ve operated for most of my life. I thought (and mostly still do) that goals are for weak people who don’t really want to do anything (see Ronnie Coleman).

Pertaining to powerlifting/resistance training, I’ve found that goals or just plans in general seem to hinder me. I used to plan out every rep that I did until I finally decided that I had enough. The problem with planning and goals in general is that they either limit your true capacity or they give you an idea of what you should be doing. I don’t think I need to tell anyone who lifts weights that some days will just suck. Some days, 315 feels heavy… hell THE BAR FEELS HEAVY! We’ve all been there, you plan to work up to a certain number and then once you start handling the weight you feel like garbage.

Just like these people…

Just like these people…

When in preparation for this last meet I had very loose plans. I only knew (or thought I knew) the weight I wanted to squat on my “heavy” day. This worked for about 3 weeks and then I was overcome with the urge to do something different.

This is probably the most overlooked aspect of adherence in DAMN NEAR EVERYTHING! If it isn’t fun people won’t continue to do it. Here’s a good example, go jog with a friend…. It sucks, nobody really enjoys it.

She’s faking it… they ALL fake it.

She’s faking it… they ALL fake it.

Then the next day go on the same jog, but every couple of minutes race to a street sign, a tree, or out run them so the dog gets them… This is called FARTLEK (funny name) running, it means speed play in Swedish and its actually fun. It’ll make you not even notice that most of the time you’re wasting your time jogging.

Not a dog, but still pretty fun

Not a dog, but still pretty fun

GOALS ARE OKAY

Okay, but goals can’t be all bad. As the great Buddha said, “There is a time for everything”.  I actually do have a goal or two coming up. First and foremost I want to break 500lbs on the squat (if not more) in the 165 class. I think  this will be easy since I’m actually eating now.

Next, I intend on competing in a bodybuilding (natural) competition. A couple of people I know said that I should and even offered to sponsor me for it (essentially get me a hotel, not complaining this actually sealed the deal).

I’ve always wanted to prep for a bodybuilding show. More or less just to feel how much 2-3% bodyfat sucks. However, I was close to that low for the last powerlifting meet, but the difference is that I want to be 160lbs at 2-3% bodyfat, instead of 146.

I legitimately think I have a good shot to win this because…

  1. I don’t know anybody personally (my size or larger) that lift heavier and harder than I do.
  2. I don’t know anyone who can eat more than me. Case and point, yesterday I ate over 7000 Calories and was still hungry. I only stopped eating because it was getting ridiculous.

The show is either in June or July and to make this even more cool, I want to do this show and then the next weekend walk onto the powerlifting platform and break more records. Its only impossible if I don’t try. Now I will leave you with some Coleman.

Yeah buddy! He does curl more than most people squat

Yeah buddy! He does curl more than most people squat

-wes

References

So if I didn’t cite anything can you believe what I said…. hmmmm

Leave a Reply

